Make this movie Hollywood!! – “Power Man and Iron Fist” – comics’ second best Dynamic Duo

I’m really loving that Hollywood execs seem to be more willing to take risks with comic book properties. After all, we don’t need every comic book movie to be as dark and gritty as Christopher Nolan’s Batman trilogy. Next year we’ve got “Guardians of the Galaxy,” about a team of aliens teaming to stop galactic threats, and in 2015, “Ant-Man,” is slated to deliver our first superhero heist film. The “Man of Steel” sequel gives us another comic staple as Batman and Superman duke it out before our first team-up movie.

There’s another genre I’d like to see that I’m kinda surprised we haven’t seen yet — the action/buddy comedy. I’m not talking some shark-jumping “Batman The Movie” type comedy. I’m thinking more of the “Lethal Weapon” and “Bad Boys” style where the action remains the focus and occasionally, there’s some elements that will make you laugh too.

And I can’t think of another comic better suited for that genre than “Power Man and Iron Fist.”Iron Fist and Luke Cage

An accident gave Luke Cage nearly-impervious skin and superhuman strength, which he decided to use as Power Man – Hero for Hire where he took on cases as a superhero private eye type. He soon teamed up with martial art expert Danny Rand, aka Iron Fist. and the two typically had to endure the hit of being good guys while trying to run a superhero business.Power Man and Iron Fist charging

Despite having little else in common, the two became the best of friends and partners long after their business folded.

The pair frequently collaborators with Knightwing Restorations, comprised of Colleen Wing and Danny’s girlfriend, Misty Knight.

I love the concept of two guys trying to get paid for being heroes and as we continue fighting through The Great Recession, they may actually be the most relatable heroes we’ve seen on the screen yet. Cage is one of the few Marvel minority heroes who is in any position to headline a movie while Iron Fist taps into the martial arts wing that has been untouched since the “Blade” franchise ended in 2004. It’s a win for everyone.

Best of all, they’re characters who haven’t had a lot of classic stories but are easy to translate to the big screen. No need to have skyscraper-leveling battles with any of their opponents.

Time for me to grab my aspiring Casting Director Hat again. This one actually ended up being pretty easy. All I had to do was pilfer through the cast of “Arrow” for the two leads while sticking pretty close for their supporting characters…

28 thoughts on “Make this movie Hollywood!! – “Power Man and Iron Fist” – comics’ second best Dynamic Duo”

  1. You have a great imagination my friend, this info needs to be sent to Marvel Studios not now but right now. Love your choices here Jeff, you really knocked it out the park here buddy. You already know ‘Heroes For Hire’ is one of the films I want Marvel to make badly.

  2. I would love Tika as Misty Knight, plus it doesn’t hurt that she’s beautiful, damn that girl is fine lol. Oh how that little girl from “Lethal Weapon” has truly blossomed into a flower, ha-ha.

      1. Yeah she’s not a household name, but damn is she easy on the eyes, lol. She played one the sisters in the “Sparkle” remake and she also played Michael Ealy’s girlfriend early in “Think Like a Man”, but the chick dumped the brother for having a dream, go figure ha-ha.

  3. When I think of Luke Cage, Michael J. White really does come to mind. I’ve heard some folks mention him for the role of Black Panther, but I think he’s a much better fit as Luke Cage. This brother has the skill set, the look and the overall street swag to pull this character off marvelously in my opinion. Plus he’s pretty good actor as well, and is pretty well known to fans as well as the geek crowd.

      1. True, I think Marvel has started to put themselves in a position where they should now feel comfortable about bringing characters like Black Panther and Luke Cage to the big screen, as well as more female superheroes like Ms. Marvel, She-Hulk, Wasp, Misty Knight, etc.

      1. You already know who my choices are for Black Panther, but I too would love to hear who would be Wendell’s choice.

  4. Great post. I have always loved these two. I am kind of mad that capcom never use BP or Luke in the MVC series. I mean cant they nix some random rudy poot capcom people? Anyway.. White would be a great choice, but I would love to see someone like terry crews get a shot at it. Neither one need any muscle suits, crews is pretty damn big. I just hope those Tyrese rumors never resurface again. I am sure you heard about that at one time. Personally if I had a few billion Heros for hire get done and Knightwing restoration. I loved Misty Knight book, Daughters of the Dragon. that lays the groundwork right there. Or at least a tv show out it.

    1. Did you ever play the Ultimate Alliance games? They were on one of them if I’m remembering correctly.

      Crews would be alright, but he’s a guy who is too firmly entrenched as the comedic muscular black guy beyond his “Expendables” work.

      1. yes and I love them. I just think that would bring to the “bigger show” in my opinion as people are still probably playing MVC2 or the various remixes of it and the various versions of MVC3. Lord knows when we will get an update or a 4. I would be happy if Capcom said screw and did an all Marvel edition. Just make a new Marvel Heroes game.

      1. THANK YOU!! strong sexy women providing much needed action over say the generic agent brick, grant, hunter, ward, biff. whatever countryclub name he has.. That show could spin off on another channel ( do they own other channels besides ABC family?P

  5. sorry got distracted at work lol. I think that would fit the schedule of abc family with the more female centric shows and they wont have to fit so neatly into the cannon of the avengers world.

  6. I guess I get ticked where I see seth macfarlene and tyler perry get a thousand shows and stuff I actually want that seem reasonable, to do, will take decades to happen…smh

  7. Guys it is truly the time to start seeing characters like Black Panther, Luke Cage, Misty Knight as well as Iron Fist on the big screen. Within the next 3-4 years all of them should be on the big screen. We all are very well aware of the new ground Marvel broke with Blade back in ’98, but it’s 15 years later and it’s time for them to break some more new ground. Plus a Black Panther and Heroes For Hire film would be hits now. It used to be the only time we would see a film with a black lead or cast be a hit is if it starred Denzel, Jaime Foxx, or was a Tyler Perry film for the most part. Now with films like “Think Like a Man”, “42”, “Fruitvale Station”, “The Butler”, “12 Years a Slave” becoming box office hits and films of relevance, it definitely shows that there is an audience out there for diversity. Add in the fact that these popular superheroes are Marvel characters and I think audiences would eat it up. As long as they produced good films which I think they would, the sky’s the limit.

  8. News just broke on the netflix deal for the 4 four series, of luke cage, jessica jones, iron fist and dare devil.. leading up to the Defenders miniseries!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not quite what we hope for but builds the future gives daredevil another crack at it and netflix. more freedom. No Generic shield trappings to appease the masses. Punisher could have gotten one or he needs to make an appearance.

      1. Jeff i’m sorry to hear you’ve been down and out my friend, get well and we all look forward to you being back on your site doing your thing. Peace.

    1. I would have loved to see these characters on the big screen as well but this might be the best opportunity for characters like these right now.

Alright, so what do you think?